Share our Passion

Posted in: new releases

The Devil Is In the Details: Why Research Isn’t Just for Historicals

I joke that I write contemporary romance because I’m too lazy to do research. Friends of mine write epically wonderful tomes on Roman and European history, and the months they spend compiling detail upon fact upon footnoted quote boggles my mind. However, all joking aside, I’d like a little credit for the hours I do actually log on the Internet doing research. Is it as much as an author writing historical fiction? Nope. But contemporary romances are based in reality, so there’s even more pressure to get it right. Because trust me—people will notice if you get the tiniest detail wrong. I research for one of three reasons. Okay, four reasons, but number four is the aforementioned ogling of hot [...]

New Releases This Week

We send off the month of February with a Hollywood romance starring a reluctant leading lady, hipsters looking for love in all the wrong places, and a new trilogy about three scandalous rakes and the women who love them. Come a Little Bit Closer (The Sullivans) by Bella Andre (Harlequin): The seventh book in the New York Times bestselling series is out in paperback this week: movie star Smith Sullivan can’t afford any distractions. He’s staking his entire reputation on his new film…but he can’t stop thinking about Valentina Landon and the fire he sees smoldering just beneath the surface. Valentina isn’t averse to sensual pleasure, or even to the idea of finding true love, but as a Hollywood business [...]

New Releases This Week

This week, February 17, brings us hometown passion, a dark past in New Adult, classic suspense, and a soccer romance where someone is definitely going to score. Once in a Lifetime by Jill Shalvis (Hachette; February 18) – Sometimes wrong is oh-so-right: After a wrenching loss, Ben McDaniel tried to escape his grief by working in dangerous, war-torn places like Africa and the Middle East. Now he’s back in his hometown and face-to-face with Aubrey Wellington, the hot-as-hell woman who is trouble with a capital T. Family and friends insist she’s not the one to ease his pain, but Aubrey sparks an intense desire that gives Ben hope for the future. Before You Break by Christina Lee (Penguin Group, February [...]

August New Releases

Here’s what’s on sale this month from Random House Romance. Claimed by Stacey Kennedy (8/5/2013) A novel of erotic discovery and forbidden desire that goes beyond Fifty Shades of Grey. Presley Flynn is ripe to experience her secret fantasies . . . and Dmitri Pratt wants nothing more than to fulfill them. Once inside the elite Club Sin in Las Vegas, Presley is nervous but excited—and determined to surrender to her every desire. Dmitri is her Master, and his touch is like fire. With each careful, calculated caress, he unleashes her wildest inhibitions, giving her unimagined pleasure. Presley is different than the other submissives Dmitri has mastered. The BDSM lifestyle is new to her, and so are the games they [...]

May New Releases!

For more check out our printable shopping list – just click here! The Lost Husband by Catherine Center (On Sale 5/7) Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there’s always more than we can imagine left to find.

On sale today! New from Suzanne Brockmann, Mary Balogh, and more . . .

Here’s what’s on sale this week from Random House Romance. Midnight Secrets by Ella Grace On a hot southern night, with a storm on the horizon, a family is shattered. Three beautiful daughters—Savannah, Samantha, and Sabrina Wilde—go on with their lives, each significantly changed, as they bear the memory of the murder-suicide that killed their parents. For years, they have stayed away from Midnight, Alabama. Until Midnight calls them home.

February New Releases

See what else is on sale now on our printable shopping list – just click here! Edge of Dawn by Lara Adrian (On Sale 2/26) In this pulse-pounding and thrillingly sensual novel, New York Times bestselling author Lara Adrian returns to the mesmerizing world of the Midnight Breed, following new characters into a dark future where an uneasy peace can unravel into war—and a great betrayal can mask an all-consuming love. A Most Scandalous Proposal by Ashlyn Macnamara (On Sale 2/26) In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other. After watching her beloved sister, Sophia, pine over [...]

New February #Loveswept Releases #Romance

See what else is on sale now on our printable shopping list – just click here! The Notorious Lady Anne by Sharon Cullen (On Sale 2/11) From rising romance star Sharon Cullen comes a tale of the fiery passion between a noble naval officer and a female pirate that’s as tempestuous and as unpredictable as the sea. Nicholas Addison, celebrated captain of the Blackwell Shipping Fleet, has agreed to take Mrs. Emmaline Sutherland aboard the Pride and ferry the raven-haired beauty across the Atlantic on what he imagines will be a routine trip. But when the ship is attacked by pirates, the seemingly innocent passenger is revealed to be none other than the infamous marauder Lady Anne, whose name strikes [...]

Shawntelle’s Got You Covered – an interview with Kimberly Killion

Happy Holidays, everyone! I’m excited about this December post since I get a chance to interview Kimberly Killion, the creative director and owner of the Killion Group, the newly formed umbrella company for Hot Damn Designs. They design romance covers and so much more, but I won’t go into that since Kim’s the focus of this interview. Let’s get to the first question that will lead to all the other ones: Shawntelle: What services does the Killion Group provide for the romance community? Kim Killion: Wow! I hope you’re sitting down. The Killion Group continues to add services monthly! Right now, I think we’re offering everything but house cleaning and babysitting. But seriously, we strive to be a one-stop shop [...]

On Sale this week!

Here’s what’s coming this week and next from Random House Romance. Kept by Shawntelle Madison (On Sale 11/27) Fresh from defending her pack in battle, Natalya Stravinsky, a whip-smart werewolf with a lovable neurotic streak, wants a little rest and relaxation. Once an outcast, she’s now eager to rejoin the ranks of her New Jersey pack, and has even gotten a handle on her obsessive urge to hoard holiday ornaments. Yet Nat barely has time to revel in her progress before the next crisis comes howling at her door. Nat’s father has suddenly gone missing, captured by the Russian werewolf mafia. And as Nat steps up to save her dad from a mob boss’s deadly game, two men step in [...]

November New Releases

Here’s what’s coming this month from Random House Romance. Naughty & Nice by Ruthie Knox, Molly O’Keefe & Stefanie Sloane (On Sale 11/5) ’Tis the season for romance with three original holiday-themed novellas! Unwrap this festive eBook bundle and discover why these authors are quickly becoming the biggest names in the genre. Ruthie Knox tells a heartwarming contemporary story of first loves given the gift of a second chance; Molly O’Keefe releases the ghosts of Christmas past with a prequel to her novel Crazy Thing Called Love; and Stefanie Sloane weaves an irresistible Regency tale of fiery passion that burns deep on a cold winter’s night.

On Sale Today!

Forbidden by Jacquelyn Frank (On Sale 10/30) The unexpected happens in an instant. On her way to work, secretary Docia Waverley hurtles into a crashing crossroads, and she quickly begins to suspect that things will never be the same. Then, when a tall, blond, muscular stranger intervenes on her behalf, telling her it is his duty to protect her at all cost, what is just a feeling turns to proof positive. That is, as long as Docia’s savior doesn’t turn out to be a crazed kidnapper. The Recruit by Monica McCarty (On Sale 10/30)

October New Releases

Here’s what’s coming this month from Random House Romance. Until There Was You by Jessica Scott (On Sale 10/8) A by-the-book captain with a West Point background, Evan Loehr refuses to mix business with pleasure—except for an unguarded instance years ago when he succumbed to the deep sensuality of redheaded beauty Claire Montoya. Since that brief lapse in judgment, Evan has been at odds with her. But when he is asked to train a combat team alongside Claire, battle-hardened Evan is in for the fight of his life.

On Sale This Week: New novels from Isabella Bradford, Kelley Armstrong, Kay Hooper and more!

Here’s what’s on sale this Tuesday from Random House Romance. When the Duchess Said Yes by Isabella Bradford For Fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Loretta Chase. The romantic escapades of the irrepressible Wylder sisters continue in Isabella Bradford’s fun, charming, and breathtakingly passionate series—as the wildest of the Wylders turns an arranged marriage into a game of desire to tame a wayward duke.

August New Releases

Here’s what’s coming this month from Random House Romance. Born to Darkness by Suzanne Brockman (On Sale 8/28) New in paperback! “Brockmann’s thrill ride of a series-launcher is complex, involving a highly addictive longevity drug (which stimulates the part of the brain that produces superpowers), human trafficking, torture, a mysterious institute, a kick-ass heroine, a bad-boy hero, hot sex, missing children, secret crushes, and so much more . . . . [This] winning tale, part romantic suspense and part science fiction, will leave readers for the next in the series.” —Booklist

On Sale This Week: New novels from H.P. Mallory, J.K. Beck, Keri Arthur, and more!

Here’s what’s on sale this Tuesday from Random House Romance. When You Wish Upon a Duke by Isabella Bradford For Fans of Nicole Jordan, Julia Quinn, and Eloisa James In a sparkling new series filled with irresistible charm and sizzling romance, award-winning author Isabella Bradford introduces us to the eldest of three Wylder sisters—unruly country girls whose passion for life leaves their London suitors breathless. Amazon Barnes & Noble Indiebound iBookstore

Guest Author, Cindy Holby’s new release Angel’s End

It’s been two years since I’ve had a release. Two long years of trying to keep my career alive in the every changing marketplace. I am thrilled to be writing for a new publisher and excited about my new series, Angel’s End. The only thing that doesn’t excite me is figuring out how to promote my book. The problem is publishers have expectations. They expect you to have thousands of twitter followers. They want you to have 5000 likes on your fan page. They want you on all of the social media outlets, they want you to do blog tours, and they ask you to do it all by yourself while you are trying to write the next book. What’s [...]