Share our Passion

Posted in: romantic suspense

An Interview with Author Shiloh Walker PLUS Giveaway!

Larissa Ione, EMT and meteorologist, is author of the New York Times bestselling Demonica series, and is half of the Sydney Croft writing duo. Larissa first met Shiloh Walker online. Then they met in person, possibly in a bar, which they won’t confirm or deny. They hit it off right away and enjoy their friendship—as long as they avoid talking about the medical field, where they both worked and have very definite and sometimes different opinions about the players in the profession. But that’s okay, because there’s plenty of other stuff to talk about, including a love of things spooky, things paranormal, and all things books—the edgier the better. Larissa’s latest book, Azagoth, is a June release. Larissa: Okay, so [...]

WINNERS ANNOUNCED – WILD WAYS: The Top 5 Things I Love About Navy SEALS + Giveaway!!

Have you met the J-Men yet? Get the intro in WILD HEARTS, a quick way to meet all the guys and find out what they’re all about; WILD ON YOU gives you the skinny on Risk *sigh*; and now WILD WAYS, Julian’s story! Read about his search for a missing woman amongst motorcycle chaos and criminals testing Julian’s mega-SEAL qualities *hot*!

Loving on the Edge: My Passion for Romantic Suspense

I don’t live on the edge doing truly scary things, the kind of things equated with living on the edge. I do not skydive or snowboard. I don’t climb rock walls or drive race cars. Living on the edge for me is taking on a new writing challenge or speaking in public. What exhilarates me is pretty simple, as simple as experiencing a dramatic thunderstorm from my back porch, or working with a homeless cat to get it accustomed to me and therefore adoptable by a compassionate person. But when it comes to my characters it’s a different story. I put them into dangerous situations, ones that could end their lives. Being kidnapped, shot at, and knocked unconscious is just [...]

Not Your Mother’s Romantic Suspense

Where did the romantic suspense market go? That’s a question I get a lot from readers. There was a time when it seemed like every contemporary romance novel was a romantic suspense story. But recently? Not so much. I have a theory about it (ask anyone who knows me: I have theories about everything). This theory revolves around a number of the originating authors of the romantic suspense form retiring or reducing their writing schedules in the early 2000’s.  It was just about time for a new crop of suspense writers to come along and refresh the pool when three things happened simultaneously: First, a wave of mega-hit paranormal books had swept the marketplace and movie theaters. New writers’ imaginations [...]

Winners Announced!! – Sally Eggert, author of In the Dark ponders Ethics vs. Loyalty + #Giveaway

In my novel In the Dark, the main character, Josie, thinks she knows what matters most to her until one terrible night comes along and changes everything. Before then, she thought that love and loyalty would always trump everything else, and that she would always know who she could count on. After that night, she finds herself unable to trust anyone for a long time. She feels let down and betrayed by someone she once loved, and in the absence of the sense of emotional security she has lost, she falls back on a rigid set of streetwise rules, and a strong sense of self-preservation. When someone she is beginning to warm to—Johnny—turns out to be on the wrong side [...]

#SaturdaySelections – In the Dark by Sally Eggert plus Chapter One Free Read!

On sale Tuesday an exciting new release by Sally Eggert, In the Dark – a romantic suspense story that makes you feel . . . the tension, the emotion and the romance! About the book: A woman drawn into a dangerous game. A man who may not be what he seems. Passion raises the stakes in Sally Eggert’s electrifying novel of deception and desire. Josie Nielsen’s anonymous life as a bartender is a world away from her classified job at a covert agency—and the terrifying night she was almost killed for her country’s secrets. That was the night Josie found out the hard way that no one had her back, especially not the man she thought she loved. But she’s [...]

Weekend Viewing

This weekend I plan to re-watch one of my favorite movies, The Deep End.  When it was in theaters back in 2001, the studio promoted it as a thriller. But the  best thing about this movie is the scorching  unconventional romance (and scorching chemistry!) between Tilda Swinton and Goran Visnjic.  She’s a lonely military wife and mother, holding down the household while her husband is away at sea. When her teenage son gets himself into a terrible situation, she finds herself blackmailed. Goran is the bad guy — but ladies, if this is bad, I don’t want to be good!

A Midnight Tale: The Wilde Mansion

Midnight, Alabama, where the cloying sweet fragrance of honeysuckle is as thick as the town’s secrets. The Wilde family has lived in the town for generations, enjoying the prestige that comes with being one of the town’s elite. And then, one night, everything changed. Excerpt from MIDNIGHT SECRETS, the new novel from Ella Grace available now in paperback and eBook: As he came to the long drive leading to the mansion, Zach stopped the car. Even though it had stood empty since Daniel Wilde passed on, the residence was kept in perfect condition.

Now in paperback! Karen Robards, THE LAST VICTIM

“[An] exceptional storyteller . . . Leave it to [Karen] Robards to deliver the start of a series that is distinctive and unforgettable!”—RT Book Reviews

Guest Post: Mariah Stewart’s Mercy Series, how it all began

I recently received the happy news that my publisher, Ballantine Books, was releasing my three book MERCY STREET series as a 3-in-1 eBook bundle. It’s happy news for me because this series is very dear to my heart, and apparently dear to many of my readers as well. It’s a rare day that goes by without a request for more books in the series (the most popular subject heading appears to be MORE MERCY, PLEASE!). If you missed them when they were first released, let me tell you a little about the idea behind the books – MERCY STREET, CRY MERCY, and ACTS OF MERCY. We’ve all seen the TV news and the newspaper articles about people who have gone [...]

New from Linda Howard: Read the first two chapters of SHADOW WOMAN

Coming January 1, 2013, from perennial New York Times bestselling author Linda Howard—a thrilling and sensual new novel of romance, suspense, intrigue . . . and memories that can kill. Click “more” to read the first two chapters!

Guest Post: Congratulations. It’s a…wicked witch? by Virna DePaul + giveaway!

Writers get to craft their stories, build their worlds, and develop their characters, right? So what does it mean when an author writes a little…edgy? About characters that might be considered a little…dark? What motivates a romance writer to pen a particularly damaged, flawed, maybe even slightly controversial, hero or heroine? What motivates me to do this?

New Release: Stolen by Shiloh Walker

On Sale Now! About the Book: This thrilling and super sexy novel from bestselling romantic suspense author Shiloh Walker will appeal to fans of Allison Brennan and Linda Howard. Shay Morgan has stayed hidden for a long time. Living a reclusive life in Earth’s End, Alaska, she’s as far away as she can get from the trauma of her childhood and the man who hurt her long ago. But terror takes over Shay’s life yet again when an unknown stalker steals away the fragile peace she’s built for herself—targeting not only her but the one man who’s ever managed to get past the walls she’s built around herself.

Do you love ghost stories? Karen Robards’s inspiration for her new novel will give you chills.

I love ghost stories. Always have, always will. Wuthering Heights, with ghost Cathy haunting Heathcliff, is one of my very favorite books ever. The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe made my heart pound the first time I read it, when I was about twelve years old, and it makes my heart pound when I read it still. Since I started writing THE LAST VICTIM, which has its own (way sexy) resident ghost, I’ve done a lot of research into the paranormal. But sometimes the best ghost stories begin at home.

In the Name of Research – Guest Post by Kylie Brant

IN THE NAME OF RESEARCH, heh,that’s what they say Enjoy Kylie’s post & check out her book DEADLY SINS, available now. It’s no secret that writers will go to great lengths to gain research for our novels. I once spent a day hiking through the Willamette Forest in Oregon, crawling through caves with momentary amnesia regarding my aversion to bats. I had powerful motivation: I was looking for the perfect cave for my character to dispose of seven sets of skeletal remains. Fortunately the bats stayed hidden for the day and I did discover the perfect spot. I also had an epiphany of sorts–when I walked through the dappled woods and saw a cave with a keyhole in the ceiling [...]

Vixenate Me! Huh? Stop on by & we’ll tell ya all about it -

Pulling out all the punches Virna creates a community to get the word out about her books to her readers, that’s you! Have you ever been part of a street team? Definition of Author Street Team: A group of people who love an author and “hit the streets” to promote the author on their own time.

Book Release – Bad to the Bone by Debra Dixon, a Loveswept Classic

Blockbuster legend Debra Dixon ignites high-powered suspense as the romance between an agent with a dark past and a tough Texas cop gets too close for comfort. Jessica Daniels doesn’t do specialty work—anymore. Until a frantic call from her former handler’s young daughter puts her back in the game. The man who ran Jessica’s covert missions is missing, along with his black book. But dealing with the crisis her own way proves impossible when detective Sullivan Kincaid makes it clear that she’s got a partner—and that he doesn’t trust her. But Sullivan wants her . . . badly. Jessica is a woman hiding secrets and a past as brutal and dirty as his. Now she’s made his job and his [...]

Book Review: Marlene gives you her take on Born To Darkness

Thanks Marlene! You can visit her on Reading Reality where she talks about romance and, well – everything! I grabbed Born to Darkness by Suzanne Brockmann because so many people have recommended her, but her Troubleshooters series is already on book 17, and if I liked it, well, the so many books, so little time problem reared its ugly head and spat at me. Born to Darkness is the first book in Brockmann’s Fighting Destiny series. and the readers who recommended her books were right. Born to Darkness is terrific romantic suspense. For this reader, Darkness has some added appeal, because this new series has a futuristic paranormal feel to it. Born to Darkness takes place in Boston, in a [...]

Sweet Justice by Christy Reece

Available now! Honor Stone is a young, idealistic FBI agent when her path collides with Seth Cavanaugh. For a girl who has never walked on the wild side, the dark and dangerous Seth is a temptation she can’t refuse. But then Seth walks out the door and out of her life. Five years later, Honor is an operative with the elite Last Chance Rescue organization and Seth is a desperate ex-cop searching for his missing niece—one of many young women who have mysteriously vanished from college campuses. Going undercover, Honor will attract the maniacal cult leader behind the kidnappings and find a way to work with Seth—while steering clear of the passion and need that’s just one touch away from [...]