Share our Passion

Posted in: Women’s Fiction

The Romance of a Small-Town Getaway

It’s a frequent scene in books and films: a big-city couple throw their overnight bags into a car late on a Friday afternoon. They leave the city and drive to a smaller, quieter, more intimate place, one where the air is scented not by auto exhaust but by grass and wildflowers and perhaps the inviting aroma of fresh coffee from a cafe on the corner. Instead of department stores and streets of swanky places to dine, there are unique, family-run shops and a handful of mom-and-pop restaurants. Cell phone service might be spotty at best, and that’s just fine, because our couple has come to a small town to disconnect from their harried workweek routines and reconnect with each other. [...]

ADULTERY by Paulo Coelho

Despite the attention-grabbing title, Adultery, the new novel by the award-winning author of The Alchemist, is not really about cheating. It’s more about that space we reach in the middle of our lives when we start to doubt everything – the midlife crisis. On the surface, Linda has less reasons for experiencing this crisis than most. She’s in her thirties, attractive, rich, and she lives in beautiful Geneva, Switzerland. She has a loving husband, children, and a good job as a political journalist. All things considered, it’s not easy to empathize with her unhappiness. But as we all know, depression isn’t rational. And Linda is depressed. She explains, “I am a woman torn between the terror that everything might change [...]

Women’s History Month: Mozart’s Muse

This piece, in a series of posts highlighting women in history, comes from Vivien Shotwell, author of Vienna Nocturne, a fictionalized account of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and soprano Anna Storace, his muse. In reading about Mozart, and studying his letters, and listening to his operas, it’s hard not to come away with an impression of his great respect and love for women. Although he lived in a time when women had little freedom, and were often poorly educated, he had a warm relationship with his mother and with his brilliant older sister, Nannerl. Nannerl in her own right was an extraordinarily gifted pianist, but she was not allowed, by her father or by society– so at least is my impression — [...]

#BookReview – Ivy Secrets by Jean Stone – The Examiner gives the full scoop!

ON sale now – Ivy Secrets by Jean Stone is a dramatic, suspenseful novel that weaves together the lives of three young women with a closely guarded secret that puts a teenage girl in jeopardy. Here’s what The Examiner had to say – enjoy!! Sometimes book reviews zero-in on one aspect of a book which is most prominent to the reader. Ivy Secrets by Jean Stone is one book in which the reader can do just that. Ivy Secrets by Jean Stone is about three women who met at a New England college and are from different backgrounds; Charlie – the poor girl from the other side of the tracks, Tess – the artist with an inferiority complex, and Marina [...]

A Life List with A Life Lesson: Lori Nelson Spielman on Finding “Mr. Perfect”

It’s no secret: The idea for my novel, The Life List, was sparked by an abandoned life list I’d written when I was a teen. But what most people don’t know is that I also wrote another list, eight years later, when I was 22. Cheerleading and good grades didn’t make the cut this time around. Instead, I’d written 18 serious goals, things I hoped to carry with me for the rest of my life.

A 20-Book Valentine’s Day Giveaway!

Love Valentine’s Day? So do these authors! Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Four Ms. Bradwells, The Wednesday Sisters, and the forthcoming Wednesday Daughters, has partnered with twenty of her writer friends to offer this fabulous Valentine’s Day promotion.

WEEKLY GIVEAWAY: Enter to win a copy of STARTING NOW by Debbie Macomber!

This week we’re giving away 10 copies of STARTING NOW by Debbie Macomber, a return to Seattle’s beloved Blossom Street in this heartfelt tale of friendship, renewal, and discovering what’s truly important in life. Winners will be emailed this Friday, so enter to win below! As always, you can head over to Romance at Random’s Giveaway Tab, for any giveaway details you might need, and we’ll remind you every day during this week to enter via Facebook and on Twitter. Follow us now so you won’t miss out!

New Release: The Sins of the Mother by Danielle Steel

On Sale Now! About the book: Synopsis Every woman makes choices. And no one has made more difficult choices than Olivia Grayson. The enormously successful businesswoman missed out on much of her children’s lives while she built her legendary home-furnishings empire. In Danielle Steel’s character-rich new novel, Olivia faces the past, tries to balance the present, and makes amends where due, while still running her vastly successful business.

Book Review by Janet Webb, The Inn at Rose Harbor

Debbie Macomber always writes a story that keeps on giving – I really enjoyed Janet’s post & hope you do to. Happy Reading!! Whew, at last it’s September, and life can get back into a regular routine. Time to crack open the covers of new books by favorite authors. High on my list of tried and true authors is Debbie Macomber because she takes me to a very familiar place, a guaranteed escape for a few hours. As she says on her website, “Wherever you are, Debbie takes you home …”.

What happened to my sister? – this story will move you.

“A storytelling triumph about the meaning of family — ultimately a wondrously uplifting tale of hope and redemption starring a main character who is quite simply unforgettable.” – Bookreporter.com This stand-alone, follow-up to Me & Emma is a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans not only of Me & Emma but also Ellen Foster and The Lovely Bones.

The Memory Thief – a new release you won’t want to miss

In Emily Colin’s exquisite debut novel, perfect for the fans of Kristin Hannah, one man’s vow to his wife sparks a remarkable journey that tests the pull of memory and reaffirms the bonds of love. With a quote like this how can you pass up this book – “Dazzlingly original and as haunting as a dream, Emily Colin’s mesmerizing debut explores the way memory, love, and great loss bind our lives together in ways we might never expect. From its audacious opening to its knockout last pages, I was enthralled.”—Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You”

Wife 22, a book every woman should read + Today’s giveaway!

Three books to giveaway today on Romance At Random – just comment below & you may be randomly chosen to win – winners announced : Lee Michele Grace all winners have been contacted – until next time! For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life. About the story . . .

I’VE GOT YOUR NUMBER Giveaway: Winners!

Last week we posted a giveaway to win a copy of Sophie Kinsella’s newest novel, I’ve Got Your Number. Today, I’m here to announce the winners! Drum roll please…. And the winners are: Shelley B. from Morris, AL Lisa B. from Filion, MI Shirley R. from Rosharon Texas Dottie L. from Mount Laurel NJ Allie M. from North Port, FL Amy P. from Santa Ana, CA Sherie L. from Baton Rouge, LA Brandi O. from Huntsville, TX Audrey S. from Waukesha, WI Michelle S. from Honolulu, HI Patti P. from Elk Grove Village, IL Donna S. from St Louis, MO Barbara E. from Orlando, FL Roberta D. from Rochester, MN Catherine L. from Leland, NC Kerrie D. from Matteson, IL [...]

Winners on Romance At Random

Winners on Romance At Random Hi everyone! Thanks again for blogging with us this week — winners are below & if you are one, please send your snail mail to: romanceatrandom@randomhouse.com so we can get you your book! Or email if you prefer a digital copy. Authors that may have offered a giveaway during the week will post their winners on those posts in the comment section — so take a look to see if you’re included! Congrats to all: ClaireA BN100 Drey KarenW ShellyB Check out our book list to see what is on sale this week click here Don’t miss our Holiday Hop – details here: All the best for a safe New Year! Stop by this week [...]

Chick lit and women’s fiction is there a difference? Plus – Giveaway!

Today, I want to talk about chick lit and women’s fiction. Chick lit is geared more towards younger, college-aged women. Even the covers of these books are brighter and appeal to the younger crowd. These type novels are meant for entertainment purposes only. It’s not intended for the reader to walk away with some lesson that they could use in their own life. No, this type of novel is just to keep the reader engaged and entertained. Women’s fiction tends to be for the more mature woman who’s ready to roll up her sleeves and get into a story – a story in which she could possibly gain lessons and apply those lessons to her own life. It doesn’t really [...]

Happy Birthday! By Danielle Steel

On sale now – buy here In this beguiling new novel, Danielle Steel tells the story of three very different people, each of whom, on the same day, reaches a crucial turning point in life—a rite both bittersweet and full of hope, a time to blow out the candles, say goodbye to the past, and make a wish for the future. Valerie Wyatt is the queen of gracious living and the arbiter of taste. Since her long-ago divorce, she’s worked hard to reach the pinnacle of her profession and to create a camera-ready life in her Fifth Avenue penthouse. So why is she so depressed? All the hours with her personal trainer, the careful work of New York’s best hairdressers, [...]